Germany national football team

The Germany national football team is the men’s football team that has represented Germany in international competition since 1908. It is governed by the German Football Association, founded in 1900.
Manager: Joachim Löw
Captain: Bastian Schweinsteiger
Association: German Football Association
Confederation: UEFA European Championship
Head coach: Joachim Löw
Arenas/Stadiums: Allianz Arena, Olympiastadion Berlin

Germany national football team logo

A powerhouse of European football, Germany (West Germany from 1945 to 1990) have only once (1968) failed to qualify for the finals of either the UEFA European Championship or a FIFA World Cup that they have entered. They have won the World Cup four times, claiming the global prize in 1954, 1974 and 1990 and 2014, and became champions of Europe in 1972, 1980 and 1996. They have also been runners-up in three European Championships and four World Cups. Although it is almost two decades since their last EURO triumph, they have reached at least the semi-finals of the last two tournaments.

Germany Euro 2016 Squad

Coach: Joachim Low
Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Bernd Leno, Kevin Trapp, Roman Weldenfeller, Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Ron-Robert Zleler
Defender: Mats Hummels , Sebastian Rudy, Jérôme Boateng, Jonas Hector, Benedikt Höwedes, Holger Badstuber, Matthias Ginter, Shkodran Mustafi, Antonio Rüdiger, Mats Hummels, Kevin Grosskreutz, Erik Durm
Midfielder: Karim Bellarabi, Lars Bender, Emre Can, Julian Draxler, Mario Götze, İlkay Gündoğan, Sami Khedira, Christoph Kramer, Toni Kroos, Marco Reus, André Schürrle, Bastian Schweinsteiger, Mesut Özil, Sidney Sam
Forward: Mario Gomez, Patrick Herrmann, Max Kruse, Thomas Müller, Lukas Podolski, Kevin Volland

Best result: winners 1972, 1980 (as West Germany), 1996
Coach: Joachim Löw
Leading scorers: all-time – Miroslav Klose (71); current – Lukas Podolski (48)
Most appearances: all-time – Lothar Matthäus (150); current – Lukas Podolski (126)
Association formed: 1900
Nickname: DFB-Elf (DFB eleven)
Where they play: Various, including Olympiastadion, Berlin; Fußball Arena München, Munich

Germany national football team jersey

Three-time winners and runners-up in 1976, 1992 and 2008, Germany have won 23 of their 43 finals matches – all are records, though Spain also have three European titles to their name. UEFA EURO 2012 was Germany’s 11th successive final tournament – also a UEFA European Championship record. Though in ominously good form in Poland and Ukraine – having won all ten of their qualifiers, scoring an average of 3.4 goals per game – they lost 2-1 to Italy in the semi-finals.

Germany have advanced to the knockout stages in every one of their World Cup appearances but in the UEFA European Championship they have suffered group stage exits three times, finishing third in their section in 1984 and 2004, and bottom in 2000.

Leave a Comment