Czech Republic national football team

The Czech Republic national football team represents the Czech Republic in association football and is controlled by the Football Association of the Czech Republic, the governing body for football in the Czech Republic.
Founded: 1994
Captain: Tomáš Rosický
Manager: Pavel Vrba
Confederation: UEFA
Head coach: Pavel Vrba
Arenas/Stadiums: Doosan Arena, Městský stadion, Generali Arena

The Czech Republic have only been competing as an independent nation since 1994, yet in that time the country has qualified for every UEFA European Championship, finishing runners-up at EURO ’96 – their first major tournament – and reaching the semi-finals of UEFA EURO 2004. In contrast their qualifying record for the FIFA World Cup has been disappointing, reaching only the 2006 tournament in Germany, where they were eliminated at the group stage. The former Czechoslovakia lifted the European title in 1976, defeating West Germany on penalties in the final, and were twice beaten finalists in the World Cup (1934, 1962).

Czech Republic Euro 2016 Squad:

Coach: Pavel Vrba
Goalkeepers: Petr Cech (Arsenal), Tomas Vaclik (Basel), Tomas Koubek (Slovan Liberec).
Defenders: Theodor Gebre Selassie (Werder Bremen), Roman Hubnik (Viktoria Plzen), Pavel Kaderabek (Hoffenheim), Michal Kadlec (Fenerbahce), David Limbersky (Viktoria Plzen), Daniel Pudil (Sheffield Wednesday), Marek Suchy (Basel), Tomas Sivok (Bursaspor).
Midfielders: Vladimir Darida (Hertha Berlin), Borek Dockal (Sparta Praha), Daniel Kolar (Viktoria Plzen), Ladislav Krejci (Sparta Praha), Lukas Marecek (Sparta Praha), David Pavelka (Kasımpasa), Jaroslav Plasil (Bordeaux), Tomas Rosicky (Arsenal), Jiri Skalak (Brighton), Josef Sural (Sparta Praha).
Forwards: David Lafata (Sparta Praha), Tomas Necid (Bursaspor), Patrik Schick (Sparta Praha), Milan Skoda (Slavia Praha).

Best result: winners 1976 (as Czechoslovakia)
Coach: Pavel Vrba
Leading scorers: all-time – Jan Koller (55); current – Tomáš Rosický (22)
Most appearances: all-time – Karel Poborský, Petr Čech (118); current – Petr Čech (118)
Association formed: 1901
Nickname: Národní tým (National side)
Where they play: Various

Czech republic national football team jersey

The Czech Republic reached the quarter-finals at UEFA EURO 2012, their fifth EURO final tournament since the 1993 dissolution of Czechoslovakia. They lost the EURO ’96 final to Germany, Oliver Bierhoff’s golden goal inflicting a 2-1 defeat, and suffered more extra-time disappointment in the last four against Greece eight years later.

En route to UEFA EURO 2000 they became only the second side to negotiate qualifying with a 100% record, only to exit in the group stage, as they would do in 2008. Not so in 1976, when Prague-born Antonín Panenka’s memorable spot kick earned Czechoslovakia the European title with a 5-3 shoot-out victory against West Germany following a 2-2 draw in Belgrade. The Czechs came third in their championship defence four years later.

Leave a Comment